We Help and advise.

We are happy to provide companies in crisis with the know-how from over 2,000 corporate crises that we have been able to support as insolvency experts, insolvency administrators and supervisors since our firm was founded. Thanks to digital technology and a high level of commitment, we are able to provide our services in the areas of restructuring, self-administration and insolvency plan in suitable cases across Germany. Please do not hesitate to contact us! Should we not be able to advise you in a specific case, we would be happy to recommend a lawyer or consultant from another law firm or another consulting company. To arrange a non-binding preliminary talk (by phone or video conference), please contact us by phone or email.

 
 

RESTRUcturing

Act on time and avoid insolvency.

The law on the stabilization and restructuring of enterprises (StaRUG) has only been available as a draft law so far; here you can find a brief summary of the essential elements of the law (in German language only). The goal of the law, with which the EU restructuring directive is to be implemented, is to create a preventive stabilization and restructuring framework in order to enable companies to cope with the crisis in good time before insolvency and thus to avoid insolvency proceedings at an early stage.

The main instrument of the preventive stabilization and restructuring framework is the restructuring plan, which, among other possibilities, enables considerable cuts in the rights of creditors, but also in the rights of shareholders, and thus enables the long-term adjustment of over-indebtedness in the balance sheet. The restructuring plan is supplemented or in some cases even made possible by court orders, e.g. a so-called stabilization order, which prevent threatened foreclosures and even proactively avoid the collection and utilization of security rights of individual creditors in order to keep the company’s substance together.

Our lawyers and consultants have been dealing with the restructuring of companies in crisis for years. We use a wide range of experience with insolvency plans and in dealing with the various groups of creditors in the restructuring process in order to develop the best possible solutions in the interests of all parties and to achieve success in negotiations.

 
 

Self Administration and Protective Shield Proceedings

Overcoming the crisis together.

If a restructuring according to the new restructuring laws (StaRUG) – for whatever reasons – does not promise success, the German restructuring and insolvency law offers extremely attractive options for dealing with corporate crises: self-administration and protective shield proceedings. Contrary to popular belief that insolvency proceedings are the end of a company, insolvency in self-administration or protective shield proceedings as a special form of self-administration offers entrepreneurs many opportunities to remain operationally in the “driver’s seat” and to leave insolvency behind them with the support of competent advisors. The implementation follows either the way of the so-called asset deal or the way of an insolvency plan.

We have the necessary expertise and experience to support self-administration proceedings of any size. In the past 10 years we have not only been able to support hundreds of companies as insolvency administrators, but in a large number of cases we have also successfully supported self-administration in the interests of companies and creditors. Our partner Dr. Matthias Hofmann with his numerous publications – including the practical book “Eigenverwaltung” published by RWS-Verlag – is one of the most recognized experts in the field of self-administration and protective shield proceedings in Germany.

 
 

RESTRUCTURING PLAN AND INSOLVENCY PLAN

Shaping the future.

The legal tool to clean up financial burdens for a long time has been the insolvency plan in self-administration and insolvency proceedings. In the preventive restructuring framework the restructuring plan will be available from 2021. Both plans combine a variety of design options:

  • redesigning the rights of creditors, e.g. (Partial) waivers of claims or suspensions of payment;
  • redesigning the rights of shareholders, e.g. Redemption of previous shares and issue of new shares to dissolve shareholder structures that are no longer functioning;
  • transfer of assets without the need for additional (notary) contracts uniformly in the restructuring or insolvency plan, e.g. implementation of real estate sale-and-lease-back solutions, saving high notary fees.

Restructuring and insolvency plans are extremely demanding from a legal point of view, especially in view of the many possibilities. Designing plans in such a way that they cannot be attacked by individual creditors or by complex inquiries from the restructuring or insolvency court requires a lot of experience, legal expertise and, last but not least, the necessary instinct for the parties affected by the plan in the context of the preparatory negotiations .

Wir stehen Ihnen Mit Rat und Tat zur Seite.

Das Know-How aus über 2.000 Unternehmenskrisen, die wir seit Gründung der Kanzlei als Insolvenzgutachter, Insolvenzverwalter und als Sachwalter betreuen durften, stellen wir Unternehmen in der Krise gerne zur Verfügung. Dank digitaler Technik und hoher Einsatzbereitschaft können wir in den Bereichen Restrukturierung, Eigenverwaltung und Insolvenzplan in geeigneten Fällen deutschlandweit tätig werden. Sprechen Sie uns gern an! Sollten wir Sie im konkreten Fall nicht beraten können, empfehlen wir Ihnen gern einen geeigneten Berater aus einer anderen Kanzlei oder einem anderen Beratungsunternehmen. Zur Vereinbarung eines unverbindlichen Vorgesprächs (telefonisch oder per Videokonferenz) setzen Sie sich gern über unser Kontaktformular Beratungsanfrage oder alternativ telefonisch oder per E-Mail (mail[at]pohlmannhofmann.de) mit uns in Verbindung.

 
 

Restrukturierung

Rechtzeitig handeln und die Insolvenz vermeiden.

Das Gesetz zur Stabilisierung und Restrukturierung von Unternehmen (StaRUG) liegt bislang nur als Gesetzesentwurf vor; hier finden Sie eine kurze Zusammenfassung der wesentlichen Elemente des Gesetzes. Ziel des Gesetzes, mit dem die EU-Restrukturierungsrichtlinie umgesetzt werden soll, ist es, einen präventiven Stabilisierungs- und Restrukturierungsrahmen zu schaffen, um Unternehmen rechtzeitig vor der Insolvenz die Bewältigung der Krise zu ermöglichen und so ein Insolvenzverfahren frühzeitig zu vermeiden.

Wesentliches Instrument des präventiven Stabilisierungs- und Restrukturierungsrahmens sind der Restrukturierungsplan, der unter anderem erhebliche Einschnitte in die Rechte von Gläubigern, aber auch in die Rechte von Gesellschaftern und hierdurch die nachhaltige Bereinigung einer bilanziellen Überschuldung ermöglicht. Ergänzt oder in manchen Fällen sogar erst ermöglicht wird der Restrukturierungsplan durch gerichtliche Anordnungen, z.B. eine sog. Stabilisierungsanordnung, durch die drohende Zwangsvollstreckungen unterbunden und sogar die Einziehung und Verwertung von Sicherungsrechten einzelner Gläubiger proaktiv vermieden werden kann, um die Unternehmenssubstanz zusammenzuhalten.

Unsere Anwälte und Berater befassen sich bereits seit Jahren mit der Restrukturierung von Unternehmen in der Krise. Vielfältige Erfahrungen mit Insolvenzplänen und im Umgang mit den unterschiedlichen Gläubigergruppen setzen wir in der Restrukturierung ein, um im Interesse aller Beteiligter bestmögliche Lösungen zu erarbeiten und Verhandlungserfolge zu erzielen.

 
 

EigenverwaltUNG UND Schutzschirm

Gemeinsam die Krise bewältigen.

Verspricht eine Restrukturierung nach dem StaRUG – aus welchen Gründen auch immer – keinen Erfolg, so bietet das deutsche Sanierungs- und Insolvenzrecht mit Eigenverwaltung und Schutzschirm überaus attraktive Handlungsoptionen, um Unternehmenskrisen zu bewältigen. Entgegen der landläufigen Meinung, die Insolvenz sei das Ende eines Unternehmens, bieten gerade die Insolvenz in Eigenverwaltung oder das Schutzschirmverfahren als besondere Spielart der Eigenverwaltung Unternehmern viele Möglichkeiten, operativ im “driver’s seat” zu bleiben  und mit Unterstützung kompetenter Berater die Insolvenz hinter sich zu lassen. In der Umsetzung gelingt dies entweder im Wege des sog. Asset Deal oder im Wege eines Insolvenzplans.

Wir haben die nötige Expertise und Erfahrung, um Eigenverwaltungsverfahren jeder Größenordnung zu begleiten. In den vergangenen 10 Jahren konnten wir nicht nur hunderte von Unternehmen durch die als Insolvenzverwalter, sondern in einer Vielzahl von Fällen auch Eigenverwaltungen erfolgreich im Interesse von Unternehmen und Gläubigern begleiten. Unser Partner Dr. Matthias Hofmann gehört mit seinen Veröffentlichungen - einschließlich dem im RWS-Verlag erschienenen Praxisbuch “Eigenverwaltung”  – deutschlandweit zu den ausgewiesensten Experten im Bereich der Eigenverwaltung und des Schutzschirmverfahrens.

 
 

Restrukturierungsplan und Insolvenzplan

Zukunft gestalten.

Das juristische Werkzeug, um finanzielle Altlasten zu sanieren, ist in Eigenverwaltung und Insolvenz bereits seit langem der Insolvenzplan. In der präventiven Restrukturierung wird ab 2021 der Restrukturierungsplan zur Verfügung stehen. Beide Pläne verbindet eine Vielzahl an Gestaltungsmöglichkeiten:

  • Neugestaltung der Rechte von Gläubigern, z.B. (Teil-) Verzichte auf Forderungen oder Zahlungsaufschübe;
  • Neugestaltung der Rechte von Gesellschaftern, z.B. Einziehung bisheriger Anteile und Ausgabe von neuen Anteilen zur Auflösung nicht mehr funktionierender Gesellschafterstrukturen;
  • Übertragung von Vermögenswerten ohne Notwendigkeit zusätzlicher (Notar-) Verträge einheitlich im Restrukturierungs- oder Insolvenzplan, z.B. Umsetzung von Immobilien-Sale-and-Lease-Back-Lösungen unter Einsparung hoher Notarkosten.

Restrukturierungs- und Insolvenzplan sind dabei – gerade auch angesichts der vielfältigen Möglichkeiten – juristisch überaus anspruchsvoll. Pläne so zu gestalten, dass sie nicht durch Angriffe einzelner Gläubiger oder aufwändige Nachfragen von Seiten des Restrukturierungs- oder Insolvenzgerichts zunichte gemacht werden können, erfordert viel Erfahrung, juristische Expertise und nicht zuletzt im Rahmen der vorbereitenden Verhandlungen das nötige Fingerspitzengefühl für die vom Plan betroffenen Parteien.